Lessons from Donovan

I6MG_5035Meet Donovan. He is a really inspiring man. He is a natural leader, a domino player and a friend to everybody. He has such a positive attitude and will always make you laugh. He may look short, but his heart is as big as the sun. When i met him i was amazed of his ability to help and care for others and his great sense of humor. But little did i know i had so much more to learn from him.

After a long time of talking i discovered that besides all the fun, there was also a very deep and loving man. He really made me feel in confidence, so when he asked me if i had a boyfriend i wanted to be totally honest with him. I told him i used to have one but that he unexpectedly broke up with me some months ago, and i shared with him how much it hurted me and how broken hearted i was. As he listened to my story he looked deep into my soul and comforted me in a way no one ever has done. He made me feel so loved and special and it brought me to tears to see how much kindness i found inside this little man.

I tried to thank him for what he just said, but he inmediately thank me back for going to visit him. He lives in a residence with just men and since the moment i entered there i saw clearly how his face lighted up. It´s not because i was anyway special, it is because he never sees women. So it´s not hard to imagine that as we continued talking he asked me to marry him!!! It may sound funny to you (as it was for me at first glance), but the truth is that, when i realized the feeling behind that question i totally changed my mind….

As we continued talking i asked him to tell me a dream of his heart. He said he really wanted to form a family and find a beautiful woman who would make him feel loved. He also told me i could never imagine how hard it was for a man to know he will never have the chance to do that. And he promised me if i ever changed my oppinion, he would be the best and must commited husband and would always treat me kind (i didnt have a doubt about that).

For a moment i was left without words. I felt so stupid when i thought how many tears i have cried for my broken heart, when he was going through something as hard as that. Being brokenhearted is, and always will be, something terrible for me, but at least it means that i tried. It means that i had a chance he never had. And i just cant imagine how it must feel to think you wont even experience that.

But you know what? I have come to think maybe there´s a “Donovan” in all of us in some way. We all want to love and be loved. But every now and then we may experience this loneliness, or fear we will never live a love story again. Maybe the people we love doesn´t love us back, maybe someone breaks up with us or refuses our proposal or leave us alone when we want so much to be with them. This can break our heart or make us feel as if nobody really cared for us, and we wonder if anybody will truly love us for who we are.

I honestly think it is not bad to feel sad sometimes and wish you find your “someone”; after all, we are humans and we were created to love. But we CANT let this feeling rule our lives. So in case you ever feel this way i wanna talk to the little “Donovan” inside of you, and let you know what i learned from this man.

First of all i want to tell you that you are deeply loved. That you are not a half and that, even when it is awesome to find a partner to share your life with, you are complete in who you are. Sure getting married could be one of the biggest blessings in life, but no one in this world, not even a husband or a wife, could ever love you as much as God does. So please remember you are never alone, you are always loved and cherished for exactly who you are. And you can never find a love story as real as that.

So as i write down this i pray his story may inspire others. I pray through it you may find comfort and know you are not alone. I pray whether you are called for a single or a married life, you will always know you are loved and valued for who you are as an individual. I pray you realize that being single, rejected or hurt doesnt mean you have less value at all. I pray you will follow Donovan´s example and remember you can always give out love, even when you may sometimes feel alone. I pray you can face your trials with a positive attitude like him. I pray that you know you are unique, and that no matter how unlovable you may feel sometimes, you never doubt we are ALL so loved and you feel it in your heart.


Donovan, im amazed by who you are. Im amazed by all the love and compassion you gave me even though you had your own wounds. You radiate God´s love and nothing could ever be more precious than that. Thanks for reminding me that we can always be a light to others, even when we have our own darkness inside. Thanks for listening carefully. Thanks for the encouraging words. Thanks for having such a fun and inspiring personality. Thanks for being honest and sharing your story with me. But most of all, thanks for teaching me so much about LOVE. This girl will never forget you.  💛

16 thoughts on “Lessons from Donovan

  1. I love Donovan now lol!

    Anywho, don’t worry bud, you’re not alone in the getting hurt department and I totally agree with you when you say that everyone is loved.
    When it comes down to feeling alone, isolated and un-loved? It’s usually in the mind. You may have loving friends and family but if your mind refuses to acknowledge their love, oh boy, you’re in for a hell of a lonely ride.

    Now, back to the getting hurt part. I only had 1 relationship and that ended badly. She cut me off. The best part? I never let her down nor walk away (Even at the end) and I loved her for who she was despite her flaws of being overly demanding (e.g. There are more than 1 way to do the dishes and walk lol!) and I’ve always supported her in whatever she wanted to do. Even guided her when she was lost and gave her whatever she asked. Basically, she was my queen lol!

    Anywho, she loved me for sure back then as she took care of me and did so many things that a loving girlfriend would. We even planned to get engaged and married (She asked me to buy the ring and I did! Aww!) but before I officially got to propose to her she said “I don’t love you anymore”. Ouch.

    Thus, ending a 4 years long-distance relationship (I’m from Asia and she was from Europe. We met online and knew each other for 6 years in total) so imagine the devastation. We had plans to get married, settle down here and have how many kids. Even gave them names already so yeah, the pain was real!

    Even after breaking up, she was still the queen of my heart (Westlife! Bet you re-read and sang the song hehe) until recently when I start to understand that life has to move on and I can’t cling onto the past! We’ve been separated for at least 2 years now I believe. Yup, took awhile for me heal but hey! Don’t blame me, my heart was like a wounded puppy and we all know, puppies need lots of tender love and care 🙂

    So here I am sharing a little of my story after reading yours, which was truly heartfelt btw. Hope you are feeling better from the blow of your past relationship as well and hey, hope my story helped you see that the male species do get punished for their evil cousins too hah!

    Anywho, I wrote something about relationship earlier today and if you are interested and got time, feel free to check it out and let me know what you think. I’d love to hear your opinion on this matter!
    https://projectbiy.com/2016/06/25/truth-about-mr-mrs-right/

    I can tell, you got a good heart and soul. I’d hate to see someone with such grace be hurt so if you ever feel the need, email me via doubleyourpresence@gmail.com

    If you ever get an idea or inspiration which you feel can make a difference in the lives of others? Definitely email me and see if we can perhaps collaborate and make something out of it. Tell Donovan that too hah!

    Talk again soon bud! Stay chirpy 😉

    Your pal,
    Benjamin
    http://www.projectbiy.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Woooow!!! I dont even know where to start. Your comment was SO inspiring and i appreciat it with my whole heart!!
      Thank you for taking the time to visit me, read my story and even better, sharing yours with me!!!!! Im absolutely pleased!
      Also, i can relate so much with what you wrote. It´s funny cause we both went to very similar situations. I was also in a long distance relationship and of course i also dreamt about getting married (and we also had our children´s name planned hahahha). I loved what you write about her, that after breaking up you still loved her despite her flaws, i can totally identify with that (plus that Westlife lyric was pretty accurate:-))!!!! I am so happy you lived that kind of love story, and i wish it didn´t end, but im sure God has BIG plans for you!!!!
      Thank you for all the encouragement, you have a golden heart and i thank God for you today! Your comment touched my heart (and i loved getting to know a man´s perspective too)!!!
      I will go right now to read your post on that, im sure ill learn a lot through you!!! Once again THANKS!!! and feel totally free to write me whenever you need, too!! 💛 💛 💛
      P.S. im sure Donovan would be very pleased to know you!!!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. If my heart is gold, I’d probably be dead now lol!

        Okay, but jokes aside, that’s really like one of the sweetest comment I’ve ever gotten and y’know what? I thank the almighty for allowing us to meet in this WP Community too. It’s kinda reassuring to know that there’s someone else who’ve went through similar experience. As much as I don’t want you to have experienced what I did, I’m kinda glad that you did- hence I actually got to meet someone who understands. Since I’ve started blogging about 2 years ago (I think) till today, I have yet to meet another soul who understands exactly what I went through so that’s to me, like a miracle.

        Your respond got me smiling and I can feel the energy radiating from you- Thats really, really nice. No words can describe how awesome this feeling is- So I’ll just use numbers.
        10/10.

        This is where you (Reader) laugh XD
        But seriously, thank you.

        What I had was definitely a beautiful love story which, unfortunately had to end badly. When I think back, I’d even question how the heck did we even got together in the first place, let alone lasting for so long hah! But whatever, glad that’s over with. Got so many things to say about that relationship that I think it’s best to keep it as stories for my grandkids LOL!

        My grandkids are gonna hate me.

        Y’know what? Maybe you can share your story with me? I’m piqued with curiosity now and I’d love to hear about your side if you are willing to share. We can both learn from each other, that’s for sure.

        If you don’t mind, please, email me via doubleyourpresence@gmail.com

        I’d love to listen to your story over there and perhaps we can continue our conversation there too. Let me know.

        Ciao!

        Your pal,
        Benjamin

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I do agree with you!!! God definitely brought us together and i am so very thankful for that!! I just found such a kindred spirit in you, and nothing makes me happier than that!! It feels like you totally catch my mind and thoughts, and that´s not always easy to find!!! So cheers for that!!
        I am also very grateful for the honesty you have shown! And i want to give that back to you for sure! So i´ll be pleased to share my story with you soon!!!!!
        Your amiga,
        Carola 💛

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Hey sorry Carola I’ve been busy hahah but I’ll get to it real soon bud! Thanks for the nomination, challenges are good for the brain and character development.

        Congrats for completing yours btw 😉

        Your pal,
        Benjamin

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

